WhatsApp testing scheduled messages that send automatically at a set time
The feature, being tested with some Android beta users, lets people schedule texts, links, photos and videos from 10 minutes to 2 weeks ahead.
Images are not validated/verified
Often one wants to message someone at a particular time, but forgets in the meantime, or the phone is switched off. Keeping this problem of users in mind, messaging platform WhatsApp is working on a new feature. The scheduled message feature is currently being tested with some Android beta users, it is being said.
The feature is to be made available to users in the coming weeks. Instead of sending a message manually, it will offer the option to schedule a message, link, photo or video for a set time. The feature can work in both personal and group chats. Once a message is scheduled, it will be sent automatically at the set time even if the sender is offline. It can also be deleted before it is sent.
The feature is being rolled out to some users on WhatsApp Beta for Android version 2.26.40.7. To schedule a message, the user must first type it in the chat and then press and hold the send button for a while. If the feature is available, WhatsApp will show an option to choose the date and time for sending the message.
Users will be able to schedule messages from 10 minutes up to 2 weeks ahead. The feature supports text messages, links, photos and videos. However, only one photo or video can be scheduled at a time. Before scheduling, a photo can be edited in the drawing editor and a caption can be added to it.
WhatsApp will send the message automatically at the time you choose. It will make no difference if the app is closed or the sender is offline at that time. The feature is likely to work in group chats too, but the message will go only to those users who were part of the group when it was scheduled. That means users added to the group after the message was scheduled are unlikely to receive it.
Users may also get a dedicated section on the chat info screen, which would be used to view and delete a message before it is delivered. If a user deletes a scheduled message, the other person will not get any notification of it. The scheduled messages feature is also likely to support end-to-end encryption.